Why Are Y.A Novels Taking Over The World??

Let me start out by saying, I am an adult. I am twenty-five years old and I have a confession…I love young adult fiction, especially of the science fiction and fantasy variety. Yet when I go to discuss books with people I feel a sort of shame(or maybe it’s my own snobbishness) when I talk about the YA book I’m reading.
It is becoming a more common occurrence on Facebook, Instagram and GoodReads or Litsy for adults to be posting about the YA novels they’re reading. And yes, I think it partially has to do with todays hectic world of go-go-go a book with more action, less filler and easier vocabulary is a welcome addition to peoples lives. But I would also say it goes beyond that(at least for me).
the-mortal-instruments

First and foremost, it is the compelling female protagonists that exist in most YA novels or trilogies (if we’re going to be honest…if the books popular it is bound to be at least a trilogy) . These are found most commonly in fantasy and science fiction but they do exist in other genres too. YA novels are filled with powerful female role models. In the last year alone I read series after series of tough chicks kicking butt and going against grain to save the world. There’s the Pure Triology by Julianna Baggott, The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare, Dust Lands series by Moira Young and my absolute favorite: The Razorland Trilogy by Ann Aguirre(and pretty much all Ann Agurre’s books). There are of course the really popular ones such as the Divergent series and Hunger games.
Along with powerful female role models that are taking charge and saving the world these role models aren’t just focused on marriage and children because of their tendency for the main character to be a teenager. The romances though intense and passionate are light hearted and not just about sex and the future of the relationship.
img_20150418_154717_786

And of course, last but not least the stories are wonderfully fast paced. The story plot races along from one catastrophe to the next making them near impossible to put down.I can’t tell you how many nights time has escaped me and I look at the clock and it is WAY past the time I should be up. All adults want this escape which is why I believe YA fiction is going to be the most popular genre now and far into the future.

Leave a Reply

