Does Locke Lamora Lie?

gentlemanbastard

The Lies of Locke Lamora

The Gentleman Bastard Series Book 1, 2 & 3
*this review contains BIG spoilers *

127455

“They say that the Thorn of Camorr can beat anyone in a fight. They say he steals from the rich and gives to the poor. They say he’s part man, part myth, and mostly street-corner rumor. And they are wrong on every count.”

the-lies-of-locke-lamora-banner

I almost chose not to write a review for this book because I have such mixed feelings about the first book. People RAVE about it on Goodreads. I for one just thought it was adequate…maybe that’s because the boyfriend is reading the Names of the Wind right now which I absolutely fell in love with even with disliking the first sixty pages or so(I’m sorry the first 60 are just such slow writing, sorry Patrick!!!)

I kept hoping it would be the same with Locke Lamora but if anything it became slower if even with it being completely action filled. Every 50 pages or so contained a new plot…a very, OVERLY detailed plot filled with twists, turns and every tragedy in between. Every time I would start to enjoy the book again I would have to read a 10 page rendition of him trying to trick several money lending clerks out of their fine clothing before he finally reveals the scheme he was trying for the whole time.
AND THEN the author kills of the twins and Bug!!!!!! I literally said what the fuck out loud when I read it I was so surprised. There was no where in the book that lead me to believe the author would pull a George R.R Martin and kill off 3/5 main characters!!! Really just to fuel the very main character Locke’s vengeance at the end of the book and his sorrow in the beginning of the second…because yes I read the second and the third book after starting writing this review.

camorr
This review is actually very old in the making and I’m struggling to remember the 2nd and third book enough to review. I remember liking the second book much better and the third book even more. At least by Goodreads standards…I gave the first 2 books 3/5 stars and the last one 4/5 stars. Mostly I felt this way because of the main characters obsession that is being labeled as a romance even though it takes forever for us to finally get to know the gal Locke loves ever so much. Though once they do she is an interesting character and I like their battle of wills later on. She definitely gives him a run for his money and who doesn’t love a woman like that? 😉

Overall, I’d say it equals out to an interesting read after I got over the death of three main characters that the author makes you love and care for. There is nothing quite as traumatizing as that, but I guess you could say that’s the make of

good writing right?

