Don’t Slip On Me

img_0600

This was one of the first dresses I made this last summer and one of my favorites because it is just so silly and ridiculous that I smile every time I put it on. I found the fabric years ago…at least five I want to say(does that make me have hoarder status?). I knew I wanted to save it for a good project but was unsure of what until I came across Tilly’s book.

The Megan dress was the first dress I attempted from the book but decided to omit the sleeves and add bias binding to the arm holes instead. The construction was fairly basic. I just traced the pattern onto wax paper, cut, ironed, and sewed it together following Tilly’s fabulous instructions. I had a bit of trouble with the back zipper but nothing noticeable. The dress is also a tad too short if I bed over not at the knees haha but that’s pretty manageable.

Echo of course had to check out what was going on and sniff my shoe….

img_2219

I’ve made this pattern quite a few times and once now as a top for comic con in Portland at the beginning of September.  I just shortened the skirt part of the pattern to create a flared top and retraced the pattern but squared the neckline(well eventually first a tried a v-neck). I found great stormtrooper fabric at Joanns and then just edged everything in red bias binding to give it a more finished look.

img_0692

And there we have it my first experiments with Tilly and the Buttons book: Love at First Stitch!!!!

 

