Grrl Knitting[yes I meant to spell it that way;) ]

IMG_3115

Why Hello! This post has been in the making for quite a while now. I took the photos way back in end of July for the OAL2017 hosted by Andi and Lauren.
I’m going to cut this into two posts and this one is dedicated to the knitting portion of the OAL! This was the summer I really learned how to knit. I could say relearned but let’s be honest the first time I learned years ago I never got beyond knitting and purling scarves and couldn’t look at the stitch and tell them apart if I messed up! Not much of a real knitter then.

IMG_3117 (1)

Now I can at least tell the difference haha. This was my first garment I knitted and it definitely had its ups and downs but a lot of fun was had along the way. I decided I was going to do the Thunder Road by Amy Appel or Poison Grrl Knits-it’s an adorable bolero that’s inspired by the movie Grease(so honestly how could I NOT pick it…?). You’re supposed to knit it in cotton but of course I had to do it in a wool because I live to create problems for myself haha. The yarn I did go with was Quince & Co Chickadee which was absolutely lovely to work with. I used almost all of the two skeins I purchased.

IMG_3122 (1)

I don’t want to talk too much about the pattern because it is a paid for pattern and I wouldn’t want to give anything away but I will say Amy writes a great pattern. As a newbie knitter I did have to google some stitches and things like that but the instructions are all clearly written with some great pictures to go along with it.

IMG_3124

I did swatch as I am told any good knitter should 😉 and my gauge seemed to be correct(though I did have a hard time measuring the lace portion). I think when I knit it again(which I definitely plan to) I am going to go up a size because it is definitely tight in the shoulders and lower back section. I don’t know if it’s because I didn’t gauge correctly or if it is because I used wool instead of the recommended cotton and I’m too much of a newbie to know to make sizing changes because of stretch etc. Either way the bolero is adorable and I can’t wait to wear it-this is especially important because at the moment I work in a conservative work environment and need to have my shoulders covered.
This pattern gets 5/5 stars in my book! I can’t say I can’t wait to try another of her patterns because I already am! You’ll just have to lurk around this space for my next review of Amy’s patterns!

