Test Crochet: #RomanticAran

Guess what guys? I finished my very first sweater! 

I had set this as one of my goals when I first started getting serious about crochet and learning how to create crochet garments at the beginning of the year.

When Lo of La Fille Patterns reached out to me a few months ago to see if I wanted to test crochet one of her patterns I, of course, had to say yes! I had been loving her sweater photos on Instagram for a while and couldn’t wait to get my hooks into one of her creations. 

I had never crocheted a sweater, let alone a top down sweater, but I felt that her pattern was really well written and worked up quickly. The details at the top add a lot of interest and beauty to what would otherwise be a fairly simple sweater.

The Romantic Aran is worked up in an aran weight yarn with a 5.5 mm hook. It features bobble sections in both the front and back of the sweater and has raglan shaping. The sweater is easy to adjust for the perfect fit and is size inclusive. It is top down, done all in the round, is seamless and features the perfect amount of positive ease. 

I crocheted a size medium. For my version of the sweater I skipped the decreases because I wanted something very loose fitting that I could layer for the cold, rainy Oregon winters. I used Lion Brand yarn, something soft and acrylic that could take a bit of wear and tear if I needed it to. I’m picturing wearing this all winter long over dresses, tights and boots. All that is a little hard to imagine right now because it is currently in the high 90’s low hundreds in Oregon right now and I had to wait until midnight to even take these finished product photos in time for the patterns release. So for the moment the sweater is styled with shorts and quite a bit of sweat haha.

The pattern is beautiful with a slight retro vibe. I’m already planning a more form fitted, long sleeve version. I’m thinking of making it in a bright green yarn from my stash. It’ll be perfect for everyday wear and still totally give a Christmas vibe during holidays. 

If you love this pattern as much as I did, please go check out Lo’s Ravelry account where she sells this pattern and several others. You can also check on any work in progress projects over on her Instagram!