Test Crochet: Minerva Lace Pullover

Test Crochet: Minerva Lace Pullover

By Teresa McWilliam aka @knottymakes

Size Small, cropped with ¾ sleeves

Yarn: Rainbow 8/4 quality 100% cotton from Hobbii Color is 101 but its labeled as a Burnt Orange

Recommended hook size: 4.5 mm

Yarn total used: around 1350 yds

Alterations:

I only did 5 pattern repeats instead of the recommended 10 for the cropped version of the sweater.

Guys I’m obsessed! 

I’m obsessed with this pattern. I’m obsessed with this yarn color.  I’m so happy it’s fall even if my allergies are determined to put this to the test (hello why am I still having such awful allergies in fall, didn’t I get enough sneezing over the spring and summer?).

This beauty is the Minerva Lace Pullover by Teresa over at @knottymakes. It’s my first pullover long sleeve top I’ve made that isn’t in the round. I thought it’d be hard to do but it was so easy! The Minerva Lace Pullover is lightweight and breathable making it a perfect fall sweater. It features a nice drape with wide sleeves making it easy to pair with jeans, a skirt or over a dress.

The pattern gives you two different sleeve options, three quarter or full length and can be crocheted cropped at the waist or continuing until the sweater reaches mid-hip.

Based on my measurements and my swatch I crocheted the size small with a 4.5 mm hook. I went with the cropped version with ¾ length sleeves, though I ended up blocking them to almost wrist length (oh well, blocking is slightly still an unpredictable adventure for me).I used around 1350 yds of yarn. 

Speaking of the yarn… I used Rainbow 8/4 quality 100% cotton yarn from Hobbii, color number is 101 and is labeled as burnt orange. This was my first time ordering yarn from the Hobbii website and I was really impressed. Their prices were very competitive, my order shipped quickly and was packaged nicely. I also ordered the same yarn in a hot pink color way because I couldn’t decide which color I wanted to make the sweater until I saw it in person. 

My only alteration from the pattern is that I only did five pattern repeats instead of the recommended ten for the cropped version of the sweater but this is because I am SUPER short. 

We’ve finally hit that very brief time where I’m at in Oregon where the air is cold and crisp but the sun is warm and it isn’t pouring rain. To take advantage I whipped up a Halloween mask and ventured out to one of our local pumpkin patches. I thought it’d be the perfect place to get some photos, drink some cider, eat some freshly made donuts and get some pumpkins (of course) for some seasonal decor on our front porch. I was not disappointed. The corn maze there made the perfect backdrop for my sweater and I couldn’t resist taking a photo with a giant version of my arch nemesis …the spider.

If you love this pattern as much as I do you can buy it on Ravelry or Teresa’s Etsy shop. And if you want to see more of my daily projects you can give me a follow over on my Instagram page or my Ravelry.

Happy Crocheting!