Test Crochet: Ceilidhe’s Beanie

Fun fact about me: there is nothing I love more than a good slouchy beanie.

I pop one of my beanies from my *overflowing* collection on my head the second fall hits. What I’m trying to say is that when Teresa over at Knotty Makes asked if I wanted to test crochet a slouchy beanie pattern, I couldn’t sign up fast enough.

The Ceilidhe’s Beanie is a fabulous slouchy textured beanie with a ribbed brim. This pattern, like many of her others, is completely adjustable. You can alter it to get the amount of slouchiness to suit whatever vibe you’re going for. I personally like to channel artsy, hipster girl so my beanies tend to be pretty slouchy.

This beanie is created seamlessly using single crochet and double crochet while the brim is done in the round using front and back post double crochet stitches. 

My yarn weight turned out to be heavier than the recommended yarn for the pattern so I went down quite a bit from the recommended hook size. Teresa used a 4.5 and a 4 mm hooks and I used a 3.5 and 3.25 mm hooks.

I learned I needed to go down that amount after being cocky and not gauging and then frogging the beanie when it turned out much too large for me. Oh well, live and learn and *always* gauge your project.

I would definitely agree with Teresa’s rating that this is an advanced beginner/intermediate pattern. It’s not overly complicated but I also couldn’t watch Netflix and mindlessly crochet either. Each stitch had to be counted and kept on top of to make sure my stitch count/texture looked right. 

I love the beanie though and have already worn it out twice despite the weather being a bit too warm still for beanies. I paired it with a pair of my jean shorts and rocked the look regardless. 

Pattern Fun Facts:

Pattern: Ceilidhe’s Beanie

By: Teresa over at Knotty Makes

Where can you buy it? Ravelry or Etsy

Yarn I used: LionBrand Heartland, 100% Acrylic DK Weight Yarn, Color Lot 136

Size made: Small

Hooks: 3.5 mm and 3.25 mm

If you want to follow me in my crochet adventures you can find me on Instagram and Ravelry!